Community Development

Community Development

Hours open to the public:
Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m.  

Link to Wasco County GIS Map

"PREPARING FOR THE FUTURE" a long-standing mission carried out for the benefit of this community's citizens and future generations through:

  • Responsive, accurate, consistent, helpful and honest service to our citizens and customers.
  • Aggressively pursuing meaningful citizen involvement in all planning endeavors.
  • Active staff support for our citizen volunteers serving on the Planning Commission, Historic Landmarks Commission, Urban Renewal, and Ad Hoc Committees.
  • Determined implementation of adopted plans, programs and policies.
  • Helping to foster a climate of cooperation among City personnel, local citizens, special interest groups, and State and Federal agencies.


The Community Development Department is responsible for:

  • Current and Long Range Planning within the entire Urban Growth Boundary
  • Right-of-Way Coordination
  • Historic Landmarks
  • Urban Renewal
  • Enterprise Zone Program
  • Other special projects as assigned

LUDO (Land Use Development Ordinance)

Periodic Review of CLUP

Siting a Business in The Dalles Guidelines

Siting a Business in Wasco County Guidelines

Planning Commission Agendas
Planning Forms

Director Steven Harris, AICP - Oversees all Planning activities
Senior Planner Dawn Hert - Current and long range planning
Associate Planner Riley Marcus
Planner Joshua Chandler
Department Secretary Paula Webb 
Codes Enforcement Nikki Lesich

Go to top